I Am The Gate

I can see the deterrent
If all you’ve ever come across
Are the locked gates,
Those ornate walls that scream,
No! You may not enter without the proper code.

I have seen those gates frequently
And I have been the person who hears only No.

I have also seen the other gate
More like him.
The gate off the long winding road
In the wooded beautiful.
The unlocked metal, still ornately designed with curling rings
Which, though unlocked and unhatched
Still must be pushed open, moving grass and earth
To walk through to the overgrown path just beyond.

This gate leads to the unknown
But still familiar, as knowing the paths crisscrossing your own soul.

Thanks for leaving a reply and thanks for reading. Your support is very important to me.

