What Coughing Brings Back

I wanted to apologize,
Those Italian hotel walls so thin
And I, so sick, I must’ve coughed all night long.
No one got any sleep.
Forty bucks for a hotel room, wasted
On coughing all night.

What could I do? So tired, so sick, so alone,
I mean, I was smoking menthols.

I just got up early and showered,
Jumped on the next train,
To the next place, Assisi, I think,
And somewhere across the Italian countryside,
The cough faded.

Thanks for leaving a reply and thanks for reading. Your support is very important to me.

