Leon’s Drive

I arrived fresh and confused,
As doe eyed as a new kid,
Starting school in her late 30s.

He was there to take me where I needed to go
And I didn’t even know!

In a 3 minute drive,
I knew to take the blue route and not the gold,
That shuttle drivers have a rebellious streak,
And that Leon just got married for the third time.

I arrived days later suited up for orientation.
He greeted me and remembered where I needed to go.

In that 3 minutes, I found out he made his wife’s lunch every morning
And most days they ride in town together because they only have one car.

On the day before he died,
I asked him if he liked his job.

He said, oh yes.

I hope he got to go where he needed to go.

Thanks for leaving a reply and thanks for reading. Your support is very important to me.

