Endearments

I’ve called her Sunshine,
Her light rising over my dawn each morning I awake still alive,
Breath coursing through lungs,
Blood pumping through veins,
The body doing its thing without heed
Or command from my soul ,
My brain working right on through the night and into bright morning
And I compare that to her each day.

But last night, the super moon shone so bright
(And what is that light, but her?)
And I declared a new name, Moonshine,
Not the backwater whiskey,
Though I’m sure there’s truth in it,
But the reflection of the sun right into night and straight on through morning
Where she’s there
And I’m still breathing.

One thought on “Endearments

Thanks for leaving a reply and thanks for reading. Your support is very important to me.

